Thursday, July 16, 2015

The Major Military Coups in Nigeria.

The first Nigeria Coup was led by Major Kaduna Nzeogwu leading to the death ofThe First Prime Minister, Alh. Abubakar Tafawa Belewa. The coup that toppled the Government of Gen. Aguiyi Ironsi led by Lt. Col. Yakubu Gowon. 29th July 1975.

The Nigeria's 2rd coup remove Gen. Yakubu Gowon from power and installed Gen. Murtala Mohammed.

The 4th coup happened 13th Feb. 1976, 4th coup led by Col. Dimka resulting to the death of Head of State Lt. Gem. Murtala Mohammed.

Major Gen. Buhari led the 5th coup against Alh. Shehu Shagari on the 31st Dec. 1983,

The 6th bloodless and Successful coup was led by Major. I.B.B against Maj. Gen. Buhari. On the 27th Aug. 1985.

20th-25th Feb. 1986, the 7th coup sponsored by Major Gen. Mommah Vatsa.

The 8th coup is bloodless led by Gen. Sani Abacha against Ernest Shonekan was successful.
21st Dec. 1997, Late Gen. Oladipo and others were alleged of coup plotting and were all detained.

No comments:

Post a Comment

we love your comments!
Use the box below to Comments, you can also like our facebook page Click Here & follow-@nigeriaaffair-on twitter