Friday, March 11, 2016

Creation of State and Regions in Nigeria

Lord Lugard
1952 4 Region
Eastern, Northern, Mid west and Western Region.

General Yakubu Gowon
12 state in 1967 Namely:
Benue Plateau, East central, Kano, Kwara, Lagos, Mid-west, North west, North East, North central, Rivers, South East, South western State.

General Murtala Muhammed
In 1976 there were 19 State namelly:
Anambra, Borno, Benue, Bauchi, Bendel, Cross River Gongola, Imo, Kano, Kaduna. Niger, Ondo, Oyo, Ogun, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto.

General Ibrahim Babaginda
created 2 State in 1987 namely:
Akwa-Ibom, Kastina
In 1991 General Ibrahim Babaginda created additional 9 state namely:
Adamawa, Abia, Delta. Enugu, Edo, Jigawa, Kogi, Taraba, Yobe, Osun

General Sanni Abacha
General Sanni Abacha created the following State in 1996:
Ekiti, Ebonyi, Bayelsa, Gombe, Nassarawa, Zamfara

No comments:

Post a Comment

we love your comments!
Use the box below to Comments, you can also like our facebook page Click Here & follow-@nigeriaaffair-on twitter